FASHION+FUNCTION: surviving outside in style

Fashion + Function: Summer Lady Styles

Published on 06/05/2014

Photos by Erik Rieger 

Summertime = fun time. Especially if you’ve spent a long, cold winter hunkered down in the mountains. June is dedicated to summer fashion on the fashion + function series, and we’re kicking it off with some fresh gear for the ladies. 

Read More

Fashion + Function: Dirtbag Dreams

Published on 04/23/2014

As much as I absolutely love running my own company and everything that comes along with it, even the challenges, there are times when I miss the freedom of the open road and the job you can truly leave behind. For the first few years of being an entrepreneur I had a difficult time leaving work at work, and found it sometimes hard to be truly present when away from it.

Read More

Fashion + Function: On The Run

Published on 04/01/2014

Fashion Function On The Run

Treadmills, and gyms in general, have never been my thing. No judgment on those who dig it—but as I explore more of the world the less time I want to spend inside. Running is one of those things I often tend to dread, yet I never regret going, and I always come back with bright ideas, a clear head and that satisfying feeling of having gone somewhere. Your feet can take you anywhere you want to go, and as spring awakens here and in many places across the globe, I urge you to get out more, go somewhere new, strap on some running shoes and go get lost in the sense that you don’t know what’s next. You’ll find me on the other side of the hill—where is it you’ll be?

Read More

Fashion + Function: Ahhh, Winter

Published on 03/06/2014

Fashion + Function: Ahhh Winter

Winter in Colorado’s Front Range is a fickle lover. Just when it feels that it’s here to stay, that the deep cold that bites your bones will never cease, the sun will shine bright the next day and you’ll find yourself strolling through downtown Boulder in a t-shirt. The products I selected for this post are a assortment of wintery things that will keep you content through the vacillating swings of winter, and come spring you’ll be just as glad to sink your toes into the cushness of the slippers and sip your hot coffee from what might be the best mug I’ve ever had.

Read More

Fashion + Function: Underneath It All, Winter Edition

Published on 02/13/2014

Fashion + Function: Underneath It All, Winter Edition

You may notice fashion+function has a new look—I hope you dig it. I have a lot of adventures planned for this year, and wanted to show the gear being used out in the field, so to speak, and want to shift towards even more authentic reviews. My attempts at being humorous will continue, of course, and if the jokes I make aren’t funny then hopefully you’ll find my perseverance inspiring, if in an awkward sort of way.

Read More

Fashion + Function: Last Minute Gift Guide

Published on 12/19/2013

Fashion + Function: Last Minute Gift Guide

I’ll admit it: I love Christmas. I put eggnog in my coffee for weeks leading up to it, I love the warm fuzzy feeling Christmas lights give me, and sleeping in and wandering around in my pajamas drinking spiked hot coco at my parents house all day is definitely my idea of a legit holiday. And yes, even at 30 I still wear my pajamas all day on Christmas. I kept an eye out this year for a few select things that I thought you might dig as last minute gift ideas, and I hope it’s a handy list for a few of you.

Read More

Fashion + Function: Back From The Mud

Published on 11/28/2013

Fashion + Function: Back From The Mud

My apologies for the temporary lapse these last two months—as you likely know, a big flood hit my beloved Colorado, and I’ve spent the last two-and-a-half doing everything possible to help our hard-hit Front Range. These products were meant for a “Back to School” style review, but I thought “Back From The Mud” was a more appropriate title. Thanks for hanging! Happy Thanksgiving—I’ve got a lot to be thankful for and I hope you do too.

Read More

Fashion + Function: Best of 2013

Published on 11/10/2013

Fashion + Function: Best of 2013

Hey f+f fans! I wanted to start off by acknowledging that the column has been quiet lately, and I want to thank you for hanging tough. As you may know, my community of Boulder, CO, got hit pretty hard by floods last month, and I’ve been focused on helping my community to heal as much as I can along with my fellow Mudslingers. I’m psyched to get back to the fashion+function game now though, so keep an eye out for posts as they start rolling out.

Read More

Fashion + Function: Take a Hike

Published on 09/10/2013

Fashion + Function: Take a Hike

As the temperatures begin to drift downward (soon, please, because this heat is making me wilt) I suspect I’ll enjoy quite a few meanders this fall. Whether you’re a diehard hiker or a reluctant stroller you’re likely to find a gem or two in the below pile of gear.  If you see me out on the trails give me a high five, please, because I love those.   

Read More

Fashion + Function: Travelicious Style Tips

Published on 08/20/2013

Fashion + Function: Travelicious Style Tips

Waking up somewhere new has it’s own special brand of magic, especially when you roll in late the night before and it’s like a whole fresh world before you. I gathered up a handful of adventure-worthy pieces that are equally nice at home as they are sleeping in an airport, and fashionable (but durable) enough that they’ll make that oh-so-desirable transition from work to play.

Read More

Fashion + Function: EcoPop! Fun Summer Style

Published on 07/23/2013

Fashion + Function: EcoPop! Fun Summer Style

As the founder of media production company that works almost exclusively with clients promoting sustainability and energy efficiency, I could ramble for a very long time about how psyched I am to introduce these eco-friendly companies (I had about half of a short novel written out and then realized you’d probably never make it to the products), but instead I’m going to keep it short and sweet with some eco pick-up lines I heard on the radio the other day. Let's see if I can make you swoon.

Read More

Fashion + Function: Roped Up

Published on 07/01/2013

Fashion + Function: Roped Up

This week is the Fourth of July, and we’re off to Tensleep, Wyoming. The gear I scoped for this post may be climbing centric, but you’ll find most of it will transfer to whatever your preferred mode of adventure is. So before you get ready for your own weekend of celebrating the star-and-stripes check out what we rounded up for you. And, of course, have a Happy Fourth of July!

Read More

Fashion + Function: Summer Camp Season

Published on 06/14/2013

Fashion + Function: Summer Camp Season

Ah, campfire therapy. Not to sound like a hippy, but sometimes a fire has all the answers. I love camping because it breaks it down to the necessities, but every once in a while you need to add a little flair to your fireside style.

Read More

Fashion + Function: 2013 Spring Video Lookbook

Published on 05/23/2013


Winter may have stuck around a month too long this year in Boulder, CO, but my fresh sunburn and the sudden switch from snow boots to sandals means it’s officially time to break out the sunscreen and celebrate the sudden arrival of spring. In honor of the change of seasons I’ve got a special treat for you—instead of reading about the clothes, you get to watch them in action.

Read More

Fashion + Function: The Runaround

Published on 05/03/2013

Icebreaker tights

On July 4th, 1985 I watched my father cross the finish line of the infamously burly Mount. Marathon Race in Seward, Alaska, muddy and bruised, with that hugely satisfied grin that comes from pushing oneself to the limit and coming back in one piece. I was two years old, and that fuzzy memory was the first of many that provided the impetuous for the lifestyle I live today.

Read More

Fashion + Function: Pedal Pushing

Published on 04/18/2013

Fashion + Function: Pedal Pushing

Cycling is awesome for a number of reasons: it reduces emissions, reduces your waistline, and you’re way less likely get in trouble late night on two wheels than four (that said, please don’t drink and pedal—it’s dangerous). We scoped out a full set of biking gear for you, and from head to toe we’ve got you covered for all your pedal-based adventures, while ensuring you’ll look just as good after you get off your bike as on.

Read More

Fashion + Function: Underneath It All

Published on 04/09/2013

When you’ve got something rockin’ on underneath you’re going to strut a little bit more, but you’re not about to sacrifice functionality for sex appeal, right? These are gritty, get-after-it, wash-em-in-a-stream and hang-em-up-in-a-tree to dry undergarments. They’re wear-for-weeks, toss them in the bottom of your pack and know they won’t stink even if you’ve been riding camelback for days (okay, they might smell a teeny bit).

Read More

Fashion + Function: Savvy Spring Style

Published on 03/21/2013

Timbuk2 Sylark Tote 2

We’re right on the cusp of seasons, and to get you in the mood for sunnier skies I pulled out a few favorite pieces from the slew of awesome gear we’ve got lined up for the next couple months, and I promise you won’t be disappointed with these spring styles. Now’s the time to update your wardrobe and step out looking fresh—just don’t forget your sunscreen.

Read More

Fashion + Function: Head Gear

Published on 03/11/2013

Discrete arccos

Growing up in Alaska left me very fond of things that keep me warm, and hats and scarves and such have always made me feel safe and secure. Having been a hat lover for as long as I can remember, I was mega-excited for this post.

Read More

Fashion + Function: City Slicker Meets Ready and Rugged

Published on 02/21/2013

Warmer days are right around the corner, but still a solid spitting distance away thanks to the mercurial nature of spring weather. I’ve always considered this as one of the best times of the years to buy a new winter jacket.

Read More

Fashion + Function: Outdoor-Influenced Classics

Published on 02/09/2013

Fashion + Function: Vintage Outdoor Classics

Fashion+function is going a little more classic with our angle this week. It may be because I’ve been perusing a lot of cabin porn recently, which always puts me in the mood for esthetic vintage-esque pieces. Or it may have been shooting with Jenn Flemming last month. Featured this week are products from Kelty, Sierra Designs, and Bogs. 

Read More

Fashion+Function: Rock Hard Style - An Interview with Jenn Flemming

Published on 01/24/2013

Fashion + Function 5: Meet Jenn Flemming

Jenn Flemming is without doubt one of the most stylish girls I know, and not just in regards to the outfits she seems to piece together rather effortlessly. One of the best female trad climbers in the world, Jenn does just about everything with an aesthetic eye.

Read More

Fashion + Function: Kick off the New Year in Style

Published on 01/10/2013

Eider Dempo Jacket

Fact: the French have style. Always have, probably always will. It’s irrefutable, and while you may not be able to call Eider’s outerwear haute couture they’re definitely succeeding when it comes to the fusion of fashion+function. And that’s why I’m kicking off the New Year with two of their pieces. You’ll feel so good in either of these jackets that’s you’ll be skipping down the street. Or whistling. Or whatever it is you do when you’re feeling good.

Read More

Fashion + Function: Slopeside Style for Girls

Published on 12/27/2012

Fashion + Function: Slopeside Style for Girls

This week’s review is focusing on just two pieces of conveniently matching gear due to the kickass nature of said pieces (and may be simultaneously due to an overindulgence of red wine on Christmas, but I’ll never tell). This one is for the ladies, but don’t worry boys—I’ll bring some man-love next post. Read on to check out the Oakley MFR outerwear kit, the Fashion + Function pick of the week. 

Read More

Fashion + Function: Survive Outside In Style - Part 2

Published on 12/13/2012

Fashion + Function: Survive Outside In Style - Part 2

I thought it’d be hard to write gear reviews this week—I've been testing cold weather gear, and after a week and a half as part of a film crew working in Costa Rica and Panama, testing these products in the cool Colorado air last month seems like a fond memory. So with cranked AC and a very chilled Imperial (Costa Rica’s very refreshing beer), I’m psyched to bring you the second round of fashion+function. Enjoy.

Read More

Fashion + Function: Survive Outside In Style

Published on 11/29/2012

Fall is still clinging with slight desperation here in Boulder, CO, but last call for my favorite season is inarguably over, and it’s time to wax the snowboard, lace up the water-resistant trail shoes and open up that tub full of winter coats that’s been sitting neglected under the stairs. In light of this transition we’re highlighting a handful of multi-seasonal appropriate pieces to help you keep up your psych, and most importantly, look damn fine as you swagger out into the woods

Read More

TOP CLOSE
[ESC]

Filter

Search Terms

Stores

Brand

Store Discount

Cash Back

Price

to

Sort By

Stores

    Products

      How It Works